I Did Not Dream

Last night I slept really well                                     
I didn’t wake every two hours
The neighborhood was quiet for once,
Calm as the rain gently soaked

I woke this morning well rested.
With energy I’ve never felt before.
I took on the morning without caffeine.
But something was still missing

And I realized
In the comfort of those restless moments
Drifting between sleep and conscious thought
That’s when I have you
I feel your arms around me.
Your nose on my neck.
Sighing into me simply.
Perfect in your way

And though I am stronger this morning it may seem,
I am not well

I did not dream.

Leave a Reply

