New Blog Series: Tunes From The Road

James& KatieSo Ive been back in New York City for about two weeks now, back from the adventure and awaiting a new one! I am excited to be headed into the studio in the next few weeks to record 5 new, bangin,’ sassy, catchy-as-hell full-band (including my lovely horns) original songs I’ve chosen to be on my new Studio Ep, entitled “Siren,” but I wanted to start a new series here, showcasing other songs that didn’t make the cut.

I recently have acquired a bit of a home studio set-up, so I will be recording and releasing a song every MONDAY (these songs WILL be available on iTunes and Spotify altogether as a project separate from my EP) These tunes will  just be acoustic, just me and my Martin, the way I wrote them while I was traveling.

One of the major reasons I decided to backpack, gig and busk my way through 14 countries in 4 months was to experience culture, put myself in situations that I wasn’t familiar with, and to gain valuable life experiences to draw upon when writing songs. As an artist, I think of myself first and foremost as a writer and had been in a rut for quite sometime. I’m young, and I felt that my writing sometimes reflected my age and lack of experience, so I wanted to immerse myself in the unknown and gain new perspective.

(I’m Hannah, from Girls, but Id like to think I have my shit a little more together, thanks. but I bet her character thought she was fine too. crap…….)

Unfortunately, as someone who suffers from Bi-polar Depression, a lot of them are quite heavy, as I’ve had a hell of a year fighting the lows of my illness. ALL of these songs specifically are extremely personal to me, which is another reason they won’t be on my new studio EP, I don’t think I could stand playing them as often as I would need to in the promotional phase of a new album. Also, as much as they mean to me, I’m not sure how they’ll come across to you, dear reader. But I am very excited and nervous to share them with you in this new series, nonetheless, and I would LOVE your feedback.

As I said, at the end of this ten weeks, this collection will be available on iTunes and Spotify/Apple Music as well, the project will simply be entitled “The Afterthought”

ANYWAYS SO YES STARTING TOMORROW I’ll be posting one song and the story behind it (somewhat, with respect to individuals involved, if any) The first tune is entitled “Cold To The Touch” and I wrote it in Dublin, Ireland. I just finished mixing it, and its dark, and sad, and morbid, maybe one of my favorite songs I’ve ever written, extremely personal, it sounds a little bit like its about a murder even though its not (OR IS IT!!!!!!!!) and I fucking love everything about it. I hope you do too. PREPARE KITTEN VIDEOS FOR AFTERWARDS, it’s a heavy one. Check back tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

