The Afterthought: A Song Series! Autumn=)

 

 

 

As promised, another Monday has rolled around, and here is another tune that hasn’t quite made it onto my new EP! I was not planning on releasing this today, but I can’t record any live guitar (too loud in Brooklyn and it’s driving me insane) so I did a little piano demo of a tune I wrote in Athens, Greece. I’ve always dreamed of visiting Greece. One time I even bought a roundtrip ticket, but then my company sent me on a contract and I lost out. This time I HAD to go, and it was everything I dreamed of, and I can’t wait to go back.

I had planned on going from Dublin, to London for an audition (booked it), back to Dublin and around Ireland for a bit, but when I was in Dublin the first time, it just didn’t feel right, and I got VERY ill in London, and I wanted to go somewhere warmer to heal back up. So I forfeited my flight back to Dublintowne and picked up a cheap flight over the Swiss Alps to Greece. It was glorious. I didn’t have any gigs planned but ended up playing two, one in a beautiful rooftop bar overlooking the Acropolis!

The last day I was in Athens, I climbed up Mount Lycabettus. (Λυκαβηττός) The name means “the hill that is walked by wolves.” Mythologically, the mountain is credited as being created by the goddess Athena, who accidentally dropped it on her way to the Acropolis. (me too, gurl) as I climbed, I ended being so incredibly high up that it was almost unreal. No guard rails, nothing to stop me from falling over the side if I wanted to.

Around this time I was getting a little run down, tired of being in a different city every few days, and I was reflecting on my life as a traveller for the few years prior. You can hear some of my frustration in the lyrics “Everywhere I go feels like the same damn place” the song isn’t really speaking to anyone in particular, it’s more addressing my entire history of past relationships.

I like this song a lot, and started playing it on piano more so than guitar just because I think it lends itself better to a more relaxed style. It’s also part of the concept artistic musical I am writing, called “So Lovely” and so it needed to have a more-piano driven feel. (more on that soon) Anyways, that’s the story behind this song!! Hope you enjoy!! More music next monday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

